The Fremantle Dockers have dumped David Mundy as captain for 2017 and appointed Brownlow medallist Nat Fyfe to the position.

He’ll be joined in the clubs leadership group by Mundy, Aaron Sandilands, Michael Walters, Lee Spurr and Lachie Neale.

Fyfe lost a ballot to replace Matthew Pavlich as 2016 skipper and he says he’s thrilled to become just the clubs ninth skipper since entering the AFL 23 years ago.