The 2023 Queensland Music Awards were last night, with Indigenous artists winning it big across a wide array of catagories.

Gamilaraay singer-songwriter Thelma Plum won the big one, winning song of the year and the pop award for her song “Back Seat of My Mind” from her critically acclaimed Meanjin EP.

Per tradition, the song will be immortalised on a plague in Fortitude Valley’s walk of fame in the Brunswick Street Mall.

It was also another strong year for First Nation’s artist Sycco taking the electronic music award for her indie pop song “Ripple” following last year’s gongs in both the song of the year and pop award for her song “My Ways.”

Indigenous Artists continued to win big in the Soul/Funk/RNB category with artist Miiesha taking the award home

Other winners include Brisbane indie rock legends Ballpark Music with their sixth studio album “Weirder & Wilder” winning album of the year.

Queensland Music CEO Kris Stewart said he is always blown away by the music coming out of the state

“We are so incredibly proud of the last year of music in Queensland.

From epic stories of identity, like Thelma Plum’s stellar EP ‘Meanjin’ or Beddy Rays’ break-neck debut album, to uplifting party-starters, like Confidence Man’s sophomore album ‘TILT.’

Our stories are reaching out into the world and defining what we’re made of. And it’s something special,” said Stewart.

Full list of winners:

Pop: Thelma Plum — Backseat of My Mind

Rock: WAAX — No Doz

Youth: Lottie Mcleod — Happy Birthday

Soul/Funk/RNB: Miiesha — Still Dream

World: Isaac Conomos and Menaka Thomas — Space

Regional: Sahara Beck — Nothing Wrong With That

Video: Ben Wrigley — Purple Static by Mirrors

Highest Selling Single: Amy Shark — Sway My Way

Highest Selling Album: Adam Brand — All Or Nothing 

Blues/Roots: Jen Mize & The Rough N’ Tumble — All Riled Up

Children’s Music Award: Cheekey Monkey Club — Yes or No A Song About Consent 

Contemporary Classic: Monique Clare — Downhill Skiing

Folk: Yb. — Blackphemy

Heavy: DZ Deathrays

Hip Hop: Khi’leb — Cheques

Indigenous: William Barton — Kalkani

Jazz: Trichotomy — Forward Motion

Album of the Year: Ball Park Music — Weirder & Weirder

Song of the Year: Thelma Plum — Backseat of My Mind

Lifetime Achievement: Lindy Morrison