The Victorian government will be using local Indigenous languages to name the 14 schools slated to open their doors in 2024.

For the first the time the state’s Department of Education consulted on a short-list of Aboriginal language names, after receiving more than 7,000 submissions.

State Education Minister Natalie Hutchins says the names will ensure a great education and a greater connection to the land.

“These 14 new schools will ensure growing communities have a great local education for their kids and a unique connection to the land through their Indigenous names.”

The names of the new schools are:

• Yarrabing Secondary College (Aintree Secondary School) is a Woi-wurrung word of the Wurundjeri people meaning white gum.
• Dharra School (Aintree Specialist School) – Woi-wurrung word meaning white hawk.
• Topirum Primary School (Alexander Boulevard Primary School) Bunurong word meaning star.
• Laa Yulta Primary School (Black Forest East Primary School) Wadawurrung words for many stones.
• Binap Primary School (Brookfield Primary School) – Woi-wurrung word for manna gum.
• Banum Warrik Primary School (Lockerbie Central Primary School) – Woi-wurrung words for grassy plains.
• Walcom Ngarrwa Secondary College (Lollypop Creek Secondary College) – Wadawurrung words for steps to knowledge.
• Nganboo Borron School (Lollypop Creek Specialist School) – Wadawurung words meaning, children first, nurturing on your shoulder.
• Yubup Primary School (Merrifield South Primary School) – Woi-wurrung word for parakeet.
• Kurmile Primary School (Officer Brunt Road Primary School) – Bunurong word for white cockatoo.
• Brinbeal Secondary College (Riverdale Secondary School) – Bunurong word for Rainbow.
• Wimba Primary School (Tarneit North Primary School) Bunurong word for White Wallaby.
• Warreen Primary School (Truganina North Primary School) Bunurong word for wombat.
• Bemin Secondary College (Truganina North Secondary School). Bunurong word ring tail possum

The names of the four new Kindergartens on school sites will be:

. Laa Yulta Primary School Kindergarten,

. Wimba Primary School Kindergarten,

. Warreen Primary School Kindergarten

. Murnong Kindergarten.

The state Minister for Early Childhood and Pre Prep, Ingrid Stitt says it will broaden the understanding of First Nations culture.

“We are so proud that our new kinder names reflect the land that they are on – and help our littlest learners understand the role First Nations’ Victorians play in our heritage and history.”