CRICKET – The inaugural National Indigenous Cricket Championships will be held in Alice Springs next week

The competition will feature 12 sides made up of Australias top male and female First Nations cricketers.

The championship will replace the state and territory division of the Imparja Cup and is a major part of Cricket Australia’s development pathway with the stated aim of having more indigenous players represent  Australia at the highest level.

The mens division will feature both 50 and 20 over matches while the womens competition games will be 20 over contests.

The Imparja Cup will still exist and will be held from the 9th of February and will feature major centre, community and school teams from across Australia.