The Nauo people have been granted native title over almost 8000 square kilometres on South Australia’s Eyre Peninsula.

The Federal Court on Monday presented the traditional owners with their native title determination at a special hearing on country.

It includes the towns of Palkagee, Mount Joy, Coolillie, Polda, Sheringa, Kiana, Mitchell, Kapinnie, Coulta, Wangary and Coffin Bay along with the Coffin Bay and Lincoln national parks.

Elder and native title applicant Jody Miller says the lower Eyre Peninsula was a significant place for the Nauo people.

“We are the caretakers of this land where we camp, fish, hunt, gather and share our stories that extend across Australia,” she said in a statement.

“This determination is the effort of over 30 years hard work, and we now invite pastoralists and businesses to negotiate with us regarding matters on our country.”

Aboriginal Affairs Minister Kyam Maher says he’s pleased the state and the Nauo people have been able to resolve the native title claim by consent. 

“This significant step for the Nauo people, and for reconciliation in this state, is the result of many years of hard work and perseverance, and I commend the efforts of everyone involved,” he said.


Image credit Denisbin